Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Hip Hop Is Alive!!

In The Ruff is the highly anticipated debut album from new DC hip hopgroup “The Diamond District”, created by state veterans Oddisee, X.O.& YU. In The Ruff is the answer for any lover of hip hop who asks the question - “Where did that grimy East coast sound go?”
The group was founded by rapper/ producer Oddisee, who has a long listof production & collaboration credits with the likes of Freeway, TalibKweli, Siagon, Little Brother, Trek Life, Charles Hamilton, Jazzy Jeff, BuckShot, Royce the 5′9”, Nikki jean, Muhsinah, J-live, Lil Fame of MOP,Skyzoo and many more. Oddisee’s soulful, haunting samples over bass-heavy beat breaks create the perfect instrumentals for him, XO & YU tomatch with their street savvy, politically conscious lyrics.
“The ware wolves wear wool suits, be ware of them…”-YU
In The Ruff is a raw mid-90’s Boom-Bap themed album for the DC state ofmind, destined to appeal to all lovers of hip hop’s golden era, managing to travel back in time and push the boundaries of DC Hip-Hop simultaneously.

This album is phenomenal. Hip Hop is so healthy!

00 Intro
01 Streets Won’t Let Me Chill
02 Who I Be
03 Back To Basics
04 I Mean Business
05 Get In Line
06 In The Ruff
07 The Shining (prod. Dunc)
08 The District
09 Make It Clear
10 Off The Late Night (prod. Slim kat 78)
11 Let Me Explain
12 First Time


1 comment:

djsavage said...

Awesome!I like this!Maybe you want to download a new samples,i left link here -